C4 Courses and Contacts

C4 Participating Courses & Department Contacts

Below is a list of courses that are offered in conjunction with C4, along with key contacts for each department. If you cannot find a course from your major program of study, please email C4Class@yorku.ca and we can help. For inquiries related to any of the courses listed below, please reach out to the respective department contact.

School of Arts, Media, Performance, and Design

Courses
  • FA/YSDN 4004 Design Workshop
  • FA/THEA 4300 6.00 Independent Study I, or FA/THEA 4301 6.00 Independent Study II
  • FA/FILM 4901 Independent Studies in Film/Television
  • LE/EECS 4700 Digital Media Project
  • FA/VISA 4091 Independent Studies: Practicum
Contacts
  • Department of Design | Angela Norwood, anorwood@yorku.ca
  • Department of Visual Art and Art History | Sarah Parsons, sparsons@yorku.ca
  • Department of Theatre | Marlis Schweitzer, schweit@yorku.ca
  • Department of Cinema and Media Arts | Taien Ng-Chan, taien@yorku.ca
  • Department of Computational Arts | Joel Ong, joelong@yorku.ca

Faculty of Education

Courses
  • EDST4999 6.0 Experience, Inquire, Contribute (EIC): Learning in Context
Contacts
  • Celia Popovic, cpopovic@yorku.ca

Faculty of Environmental Studies

Courses
  • ES/ENVS 4001 6.00 Placement Course, or ES/ENVS 4900 6.00 Directed Study​
  • EU/ENVS 4003 Inter-disciplinary Capstone Project (ICP)
  • ES/ENVS 6699 Experiential Learning​
Contacts
  • Sarah Flicker, flicker@yorku.ca
  • Martin J. Bunch, bunchmj@yorku.ca

Faculty of Health

Courses
  • HH/HLST 4900 6.00 Health Sector Applied Project
  • HH/KINE 4060 6.00 Independent Studies in Kinesiology
  • HH/KINE 4100 Honours Thesis
  • HH/NURS 4525 6.00 Health and Healing: Community as Partner Practicum
  • HH/PSYC 4180 6.00 Critical Thinking in Psychology
Contacts
  • School of Health Policy & Management | Ellen Schraa, schraa@yorku.ca
  • School of Kinesiology and Health Science | Michael Boni, mboni@yorku.ca
  • School of Nursing | Eva Peisachovich, peva@yorku.ca
  • Department of Psychology | Julie Conder, conder@yorku.ca

Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies

Courses
  • AP/ANTH 2210 Advocate and Educate Change: Applying Anthropology
  • AP/ANTH 4010 Directed Reading
  • AP/ANTH 4130 The Professional Anthropologist: Work-Study Placement
  • AP/CLTR 4000 Independent Studies in Culture and Expression
  • AP/HUMA 4000 6.00 Directed Reading
  • AP/HUMA 4002 6.00 Interdisciplinary Capstone Project
  • AP/POLS 4985 6.00 Global Political Studies Honours Colloquium
  • AP/POLS 4990 6.00 Supervised Reading and Research
  • AP/SOCI 4000 6.00 Honours Thesis
  • AP/SOCI 4030 6.00 Independent Study / Directed Reading
  • AP/SOSC 4000 6.0 Topics in Social Science Research
Contacts
  • Black Canadian Studies Certificate | Andrea Davis, aadavis@yorku.ca
  • Department of Communication Studies | Anne MacLennan, amaclenn@yorku.ca
  • Department of Humanities | Carolyn Steele, steelec@yorku.ca
  • Department of Politics | Karen Bridget Murray, murrayk@yorku.ca
  • Department of Professional Writing | Kim Michasiw, michasiw@yorku.ca
  • Department of Sociology | Michael Nijhawan, nijhawan@yorku.ca
  • Department of Social Science | Andrea Kalmin, akalmin@yorku.ca

Faculty of Science

Courses
  • SC/BIOL 4000 3.0 Honours Thesis
  • SC/BIOL 4200 3.0 Selected Readings in Biology
  • SC/MATH 4000 6.00 Individual Project
  • SC/PHYS 4310 6.0 Physics or Astronomy Project
Contacts
  • Department of Biology | Robert G Tsushima, tsushima@yorku.ca
  • Department of Mathematics and Statistics | Andrew Skelton, askelton@yorku.ca
  • Department of Physics | Matthew George, mgeorge@yorku.ca

Glendon College

Courses
  • XXXX 4100 Individual Studies 6.0
Contacts
  • Audrey Pyee apyee@yorku.ca

Lassonde School of Engineering

Courses
  • LE/CIVL 4000 6.00 Civil Engineering Capstone Design Project
  • LE/EECS 4088 Computer Science Capstone Course
  • LE/ENG 4000 6.00 Engineering Project (Capstone)
Contacts
  • Franz Newland, franz.newland@lassonde.yorku.ca
  • Aijun An, aan@yorku.ca

Schulich School of Business

Courses
  • SB/MGMT 4900 6.00 Schulich Guided Study
Contacts
  • Luba Pan, panlyuba@schulich.yorku.ca
  • Schulich Associate Dean’s Office, ada@schulich.yorku.ca
Scroll to top